Pumpkin Pie Granola

granola

I am not really a morning person, I love my sleep and most mornings when my daughter comes in at 6:30am I do not want to get out of bed. I’m always looking for a quick breakfast that doesn’t take a lot of work to make in the morning. I love granola for this reason, you can make a different batch every few weeks and change the flavours every time. I had some canned pumpkin puree leftover, so I decided to toss it into a batch of granola. Pair the pumpkin with cinnamon, nutmeg and ground ginger, delicious!

Pumpkin Pie Granolagranola dried fruit
Makes: 6 Cups

3 cups of old fashioned oats
1/2 cup of kamut flakes (replace with more oats if Gluten Free Granola needed)
1/2 cup of uncooked quinoa
1 cup of chopped walnuts
1 cup of pumpkin puree
1/4 cup of melted coconut oil
1/2 cup of maple syrup
2 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 cup of dried cranberries
1/2 cup of chopped pitted dates

Preheat your oven to 350F.
Stir the oats, kamut flakes, quinoa, walnuts, pumpkin puree, coconut oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and salt together. Mixing well to coat all of oats with pumpkin and spices. Spread evenly on a parchment lined tray and bake for 45 minutes, until golden brown and crunchy. Stir the mixture once after 20 minutes or so.
Lastly stir in your dried fruit while the granola is fresh out of the oven and let cool. Keep in an airtight container for up to three weeks.

granolapumpkin

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Granola

  1. Jeremy brought some granola to me at work. It was amazing! I had hoped to have some for breakfast this morning but sadly it didn’t make it! Kept me from snacking some unhealthy treats that were hanging around the office. I had no idea you could even use quinoa in granola. Will definitely try this one and maybe create a few of my own variations. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

