Lemon Garlic Grilled Potatoes

It has been a while since I’ve written on the blog lately.  Please forgive me!  I’ve been so scattered lately and every time I sit down to write, nothing seems to want to come out.  I just stare at the blank screen until I get too frustrated.  Well the warm weather has finally broken my writers block.  Today the sun was shining and inspired me to create a meal for the BBQ.   We sat on the back porch and grilled up some amazing cheesy burgers, lemon garlic potatoes and salad.
raw lemon potatoes

I have always loved the lemon garlic potatoes from Greek restaurants so I tried to mimic those flavours on the BBQ.  Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside with a little zing from the lemon and garlic.  Delicious!

lemon garlic potatoes

Lemon Garlic Grilled Potatoes

Serves: 4-6

6 medium potatoes, cut lengthwise into six pieces
1 tablespoon of butter
1 tablespoon of olive oil
juice and zest of two lemons
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon of salt
lots of freshly ground pepper
2 large piece of tin foil, approximately 16 inches long – double layer

Preheat your BBQ to medium-high heat.  Double layer the foil and place the butter on the bottom of the foil.  Begin to pile the potatoes on top in the center of the foil making sure to leave a four  inches or so on the lengthwise sides for folding the package together.   Add the lemon zest, juice, garlic, salt, pepper and splash on the olive oil.  Seal the package up tight and toss it on the grill.  Grill for 15 minutes on one side and flip, cooking another 15 minutes.  If you prefer a little more colour to your potatoes, let then cook an additional 5 minutes on each side.  Enjoy!

 

Stay tuned for a weekly post featuring fresh organic vegetables from Jen & Derek’s Organic Farm.  My community supported agriculture box starts tomorrow and I’m going to be blogging recipes featuring the vegetables for the summer.

Leave a Reply

