Jen & Derek’s Organic Farm: Pesto!

I’m pretty sure my favourite part of summer is basil.  I love love love pesto and I will put it on everything.  When I saw the beautiful pile of basil in our grab boxes last week, I went a little crazy and took home a giant pile of it.  When I added a giant pile of basil from my dad’s garden I had a mountain of basil.  So this week has been basil pesto week and I have been sneaking it into almost every meal.  A quick pasta lunch, potato salad, grilled vegetables and even on a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich.  Yumm! I highly recommend making a pile of pesto and put a spoonful into some of your favourite dishes.

If you need a great pesto recipe, try this one that I blogged last year.

Quick Pesto Pasta
Serves: 1

1 cup of dried pasta
a few spoonfuls of pesto
your favourite vegetables
a sprinkle of parmesan or feta cheese

Begin by cooking your pasta according to the package directions.  If you tossing in some vegetables that need to be cooked, throw them into the pot for the last minute or two.  When your pasta (and vegetables) are done cooking, drain the water off, but leave just a splash or two still in the pot.  This will help make a sauce for your pasta.  Toss in your pesto and any other veggies that you would like.  Toss the mix around and top with a sprinkle of your favourite cheese.  Enjoy!

15010267526_fe127b0155_z

Pesto Potato Salad
Serves: 6-8

2 lbs of your favourite potatoes, cubed and cooked until just soft
1 cup of mayo
1/4-1/2 cup of pesto (add more if you love pesto)
2 pieces of celery, sliced thinly
1 onion, diced
4-6 eggs, cut into small pieces
lots of salt and  pepper

Mix together the mayo and pesto, salt and pepper.  Pour over your vegetables and mix until combined.  Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.  Enjoy! 15010263656_0b0fa17c2a_z

Leave a Reply

