Week 1: Barnyard Organics

Well, it’s the first week of CSA delivery! Yay!  I never would have guessed that I would be blogging about making chicken broth the first week.  But anyway here we are.  It has been cool and we’ve all been sick with a cold this week, so I decided to make some homemade chicken soup.

Whenever I have a carcass left over from one of Sally’s beautiful chickens, I throw it in the freezer to wait.  Making chicken broth is so easy that you can make it with a baby strapped to your back!  Which I had to do because my little guy was being very fussy.

When I know I’m going to be making some broth, I save all of the vegetable scraps that would normally go into the compost and save them in the fridge for broth making.  Save all of those onion skins, celery tops and bottoms, carrot trimmings, you name it, just make sure you wash them first.  Don’t worry because all of this will be  strained out before you use the broth.

Ok, so now for some instructions.  Fill a very large stock pot full of water.  Toss in your chicken carcass.  This can be the bones left from a roasted chicken or even the bones with some raw meat left on it.  If I know I’ll be making soup and need some meat as well, I always use a raw carcass that I have cut off the breasts, legs, etc but there is still lots of usable meat left on the bones.  After you cook the broth, just pull all of this meat off of the bones and stir it into you soup.

Step 2, throw in your vegetables scraps, a few more vegetables if you don’t have enough scraps.  This is a great way to get rid of those vegetables that have been forgotten in the back of your fridge.  Add some garlic cloves, that have been smashed with the side of a large knife (peels and all if your comfortable with it).  I also like to toss in some dried herbs (parsley, basil, Italian blend, whatever if you favourite).  *Make sure you check out my next blog from Jen on how to dry fresh herbs in your microwave.*

Now for the hard part, bring it to a boil over high heat, reduce the heat to low and let it simmer for hours.  You can also make this in your slow cooker overnight if you like.  When you house is full of the most delicious smells, about 3 hours later or longer if you wish, you are done.  Remove your bones, saving the meat if you wish and strain the rest with a fine mesh strainer.  Let it cool and use it or freeze it for about 3 months.

Leave a Reply

